Journalism Award!

By Nick Capozzoli, NYVGCC Journalism Chair

The Games Journalism Award is given to one journalist or critic for distinguished contributions to the field during the voting year. The selected journalist will have best demonstrated traditional journalistic values, including–but not limited to–work that illuminates, contextualizes, entertains, exhibits lucid writing, sound reasoning, wit, integrity, et alia.

The 2021 Short List

Winner: TBA

Rebekah Valentine

See: Scavengers Studio Creative Director Accused of Belittling, Screaming at, Groping Employees

Six Days in Fallujah is Complicated and Painful for Those Connected to the Real Events

Turns Out the Hardest Part of Making a Game is…Everything

People Make Games

See: How Game Publishers Buy Crunch Overseas

Investigation: How Roblox is Exploiting Young Game Developers

Megan Farokhmanesh

See: Game Studio Layoffs Mean a Hellish Race Against the Clock for Immigrant Developers

Zoyander Street

See: Pride, Queer Haunting, and Geralt of Rivia’s Itchy Doublet

Renata Price

See: Sable: The Kotaku Review

A Year Later, I Can’t Stop Thinking About Disco Elysium

Kirsten Grind, Ben Fritz, & Sarah E. Needleman

See: Activision CEO Bobby Kotick Knew for Years About Sexual-Misconduct Allegations at Videogame Giant

For the previous years’ lists, click through the page numbers directly below, which will take you through the nominees by year, starting with 2015.